Florida learners permit is a temporary permit that allows drivers to operate their vehicles while supervised by a licensed driver who is their parent, legal guardian, or another licensed adult.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) requires that all new drivers follow the graduated licensing process when applying for an FL learners permit.
There are different stages in the process, with the learners permit serving as a gateway to the next step.
- The first step in getting your permit is to take a state-approved driver education course. If you are under 18 years of age, this requirement includes completing at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice.
Once you’ve finished your course and accumulated the required supervised driving hours, you can move on to the next step.
- Next, you’ll need to take a written knowledge test and pass with at least an 80%. You can find a practice test online to help you prepare for the exam.
After you’ve passed the test, gather your proof of identity documents and make your way to the nearest DMV.
- Once at the DMV, you’ll need to take a vision exam and give a thumbprint before you can receive your learner’s permit. You’ll also be given a guide on driving safely and what rules you must follow as a driver with your learner’s permit.
The FL DHSMV recommends driving with your permit for at least 12 months before applying for your restricted license.
Can you drive alone with a learner’s permit in Florida?
No, drivers with a learner’s permit in Florida must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has been driving for at least three years. The licensed driver must sit in the front seat next to the permit holder at all times.
What are the penalties for violating Learner’s Permit rules?
If you are caught violating any of the rules for learner permit holders in Florida, the DHSMV may suspend or revoke your permit. Some common violations include driving without a supervisor, driving after dark, and using a cell phone while driving.
Documents needed when applying for a learner’s permit in Florida?
To be eligible for your Florida learners permit, you must be at least 15 1/2 years old.
Proof of Identity Documents accepted by the DHSMV include:
- A certified copy of your birth certificate issued by a U.S. state or territory
- An original or certified copy of your valid U.S Passport A valid FL Driver License or ID card
- Proof of Social Security Number Documents accepted by the DHSMV include: Your Social Security Card W-2 form Pay stub Bank statement
- Parental Consent If you are under 18 years of age, you must have a parent or legal guardian sign your application for a learner’s permit. The signed consent form must be submitted with your application.
- Proof of residential address Documents accepted by the DHSMV include: A Florida voter registration card Consular identification card (Matrícula Consular) School record Military dependent identification card Medical record Day-care or nursery school record Utility bill that is not more than two months old A rental agreement Bank statement Government check or paycheck
Remember that learner’s permit in Florida is temporary. Once you have attained your FL driver’s license, the learner’s permit is no longer valid.